Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath

Black Sabbath are a British heavy metal band originally composed of Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar), Geezer Butler (bass), and Bill Ward (drums).

Black Sabbath started in Birmingham, England in the late 60s under the name Earth. Initially a blues band, Black Sabbath became one of the definitive classic heavy metal bands, to be ranked alongside Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and Judas Priest.

With a competent rhythm section and the extraordinary on-stage antics of Osbourne the band enjoyed success with their British metal of brutal riffs beginning with their first album, the eponymous Black Sabbath (1970). Its followup, Paranoid (also 1970) brought them a success in America. The content of the songs (both originals and cover versions) from both albums marked the band as influenced by the occult and black magic. Butler wrote much of the lyrics. Black Sabbath have been cited by some as the source of much death metal and black metal.

They released a further three albums, Master of Reality (1971), Vol. 4 (1972) and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1973) before management problems and the a label change from Vertigo to WWA disrupted the band's release schedule. The next album, Sabotage, was not released until 1975 and its follow-up, Technical Ecstasy (1976) would be the last Ozzy-Era album in the heavy Sabbath style.

In 1978 the band released Never Say Die! and rumours that Osbourne was to leave the band were proved true in 1979 (Osbourne formed Blizzard of Ozz, swiftl...