A Melodic Minor Scale 1

Animated A Melodic Minor Scale 1 tab by ActionTab on guitar. So easy you'll be playing in minutes.

This exercise is from the Theory section on scales.

Here we look at the A melodic minor scale, playing out the intervals along 1 string first, then across the strings. The melodic minor scale follows a specific sequence of intervals:

Root - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1(octave)

It is easier for many people to think of it as a either a standard major scale with a minor 3rd - or - a harmonic minor scale with the 6th note raised by a semitone:

Here is the A Melodic Minor scale: A - B - C - D - E - F# - G# - A

Here is the A Major scale: A - B - C# - D - E - F# - G# - A
Here is the A Harmonic Minor scale: A - B - C - D - E - F - G# - A

Use this ActionTab to familiarise youself with the intervals for the melodic minor scale, and its sound.

Oops! You need Flash 9+ and Javascript enabled

In order to view this ActionTab preview you need a web browser with Flash 9 or higher and Javascript. If this is your first time visiting you should be seeing a blue animated fretboard. If you feel your system meets these requirements but it still isn't working get in touch and we'll see if we can help.

Unfortunately Adobe Flash isn't supported on Apple's iPhone and iPad. If you are using a device running on Google Android you will be able to use Flash. Click on the Adobe Flash button below to download it.